Tasting Bridgeport

18 07 2010

Amber Nitro, good Nitro.

More Oregon beer!  But even better, it’s a Portland beer!  I decided to try the Bridgeport Brewpub in The Pearl, and I’m quite glad about that.   Great restaurant space, neat building, a very classy interior and a wonderful staff.  I only tried one beer, but I enjoyed it so much I had two of them.  It was the Amber Nitro, meaning it’s just an amber beer but it uses NO2 instead of CO2.  Think of it as a lighter Guinness.  You can probably see the Guinness-like creaminess of the head in the picture to the left.

Food wise, to start things off I got the pretzel appetizer.  It’s hard for me not to try pretzels in a brewpub, they’re just usually so good and each place has their own unique way of doing them.  Here they’re very soft, almost donut-like, with two dipping sauces, a honey mustard and a porter cheddar.  Loved all of it.

Yummy. Pretzels.

For the main course I got the “Dave Peru” (no clue about the name, I’ll ask next time) a wrap stuffed with asparagus, red peppers, zucchini, sprouts, sun-dried tomatoes, fried tofu, greens and a honey-almond-tahini spread.  Now, I usually don’t put too much stock in the vegetarian options at a brewpub.  They are mostly uninspired and/or bland, and I’m fine with that, just something I’ve come to expect.  However I was surprised by the flavor and freshness of this dish!  I attribute much of the success of the dish to the delicious tahini.  And look at that big ‘ol chuck of tofu in there!  The peppery chips were oh-so addictive as well.

Dave Peru draped in a sultry and seductive shadow.

Yummy, yummy stuff.  Loved this place, can’t wait to go back.  But before I do, I’ve had my eye on Rogue

Bridgeport Brewpub & Bakery on Urbanspoon

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2010
Tasting Rogue « Jonas Goes To Portland

[…] it didn’t take long after I mentioned Rogue in my Bridgeport post to actually get there and taste their brews.  Instead of going to their Public House in Portland, […]

14 10 2010
Tasting The Columbia River Brewing Company « Jonas Goes To Portland

[…] in  was how simple the space  was, not highly decorated like Deschutes, or highly polished like Bridgeport.  It was a very humble place, and looked like it was once an old general store or pharmacy or […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

